Washington County Kentucky

Washington County Court House

Washington County Court House

Washington County, Kentucky was formed in 1792. The county seat is Springfield, with a county-wide population of just under 12,000. The County was named for George Washington, the first United States President. Washington County contains 301 square miles of land in the central area of the state of Kentucky.

Special Features of Washington County:

  • The Washington County Courthouse, completed in 1816, is the oldest in Kentucky
  • Washington County was the first county formed when Kentucky became a state
  • The courthouse has a record of President Abraham Lincoln’s parents marriage bond (Dated June 10, 1806)
  • St. Catherine of Sienna Covenant is in Washington County
  • Saint Catharine College, a small Roman Catholic liberal arts college is located in Washington County
  • Many private residences and historic places on the National Register of Historic Places

Cities and Towns in Washington County:

  • Springfield
  • Bear Wallow
  • Brush Grove
  • Fredericktown
  • Mackville
  • Manton
  • Saint Catharine
  • Willisburg
  • Thompsonville
  • Pleasant Grove
  • Atoka

Address of the Washington County Courthouse:Washington County Map

Washington County Courthouse
117 Cross Main Street
Springfield, KY 40069

Washington County Official Website
Springfield-Washing County Chamber of Commerce


Comments are closed.